0
The pioneer Terence Conran. A portrait.

Terence Conran has truly left his mark on modern furniture design. His style is simple, aesthetic and functional. Inspired by Bauhaus and the Arts & Craft Movement, he is convinced that good design should be available for everyone.

Conran was ahead of his time. And he wasn’t the kind of person to give up. He set up his own company to prove to himself and the world that his designs had market potential even when others would not sell them. Like so many others, this success story begins in a London basement, which was where Conran opened his first office. Yet he only made the breakthrough with “Habitat”, his second company. When the corresponding designer furniture catalogue appeared on the market, Habitat quickly became the benchmark for modern interior design and paved the way for great successors like IKEA. Hip British youngsters were delighted by his colourful and modern designs. Above all, for the very first time, they were affordable. They sparked off a small revolution, which from now on enabled everyone to live out their own creativity in their homes. Here, Conran was a pioneer – the first to sell intelligently designed products to a mass market.

» He has brought modernity into British homes with vibrant colour ranges, simple forms and natural materials. «

But Conran is more than “just” a pioneer. He’s a superb designer of residential interiors and a master of metamorphosis irrespective of whether it’s a matter of transforming an apartment into a stylish place of well-being or of elevating an abandoned London waterfront to new glory and splendour. Just as in the early 90s, when he bought the rundown warehouse complex Butler Wharf and created a new urban habitat out of it. To this day you can still find luxurious offices and apartments as well as a high-quality range of restaurants right there on the River Thames. Naturally, they come with views of Tower Bridge. He himself refers to the Design Museum, which is also located in Southwark, as “the best thing I've done in my life”.

Furniture form the Terrence Conran collaboration with Marks & Spencer

In addition to his incredible success as a designer, he also made a name for himself with his restaurant empire. Conran has opened more than 30 restaurants in every major world city, from London to Paris, Copenhagen, New York and Tokyo. We particularly like the “Boundary” in London’s Shoreditch which opened in 2008. It features a restaurant, a rooftop bar, a café, a bakery, a food store and a hotel all in one. Above all, we find the 17 individually designed rooms especially charming because they remind us of our “25 hours hotel” and “THE GUESTHOUSE”...

JP & TERENCE CONRAN

Against this background, it seems almost unbelievable that we managed to get the British star designer to agree to work on the interior design of our guesthouse. Thanks to his timeless style, one that combines elegance with cosiness, we were able to design hotel rooms that feel just like a luxury, private apartment. Just see for yourself...

» Good, simple design. That’s all. «
Terence Conran
Architecture back to overview
Newsletter Registration
Thank you for
your request
close
Bitte stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu, um alle Funktionen dieser Website nutzen zu können. Mehr Information
OK

0
Der Pionier Terence Conran. Ein Portrait.

Terence Conran prägte das Möbeldesign der Moderne. Sein Stil – einfach, ästhetisch und funktional. Inspiriert von Bauhaus und der Arts & Craft Bewegung ist er der Überzeugung, dass gutes Design für alle da sein sollte.

Conran war seiner Zeit voraus. Und er war niemand, der aufgab. Um sich selbst und der Welt zu beweisen, dass seine Designs Marktchancen haben, selbst, wenn sie niemand anderer verkauft, gründete er sein eigenes Unternehmen. Diese Erfolgsgeschichte beginnt, wie so viele andere auch, in einem Keller in London: Hier eröffnete Conran sein erstes Büro. Der Durchbruch gelang ihm jedoch erst mit „Habitat“, seinem zweiten Unternehmen. Als der dazugehörige Designmöbelkatalog am Markt erschien, wurde Habitat schnell zum Maßstab für moderne Innenarchitektur und ebnete so den Weg für große Nachfolger wie Ikea. Die jungen hippen Briten waren begeistert von den bunten, modernen und vor allem zum ersten Mal auch leistbaren Designs. Es war eine kleine Revolution, die es von nun an jeden ermöglichte, die eigene Kreativität an und in seinem Zuhause auszuleben. Conran war der Pionier dabei – der erste, der intelligent designte Produkte an einen Massenmarkt verkaufte.

» Mit einfachen Formen, natürlichen Materialien und frischen Farbpaletten brachte er die Moderne in die Häuser der Briten. «

Doch Conran ist mehr als „nur“ Pionier. Er ist Großmeister des Wohndesigns und Verwandlungskünstler. Ob es nun darum geht, eine Wohnung in einen stilvollen Ort des Wohlfühlens zu transformieren oder ein verlassenes Londoner Hafenviertel zu neuem Glanz und Ruhm zu verhelfen. So wie in den frühen 90ern, als er den heruntergekommenen Lagerkomplex Butler’s Wharf kaufte und daraus einen neuen urbanen Lebensraum schuf. Bis heute finden sich dort luxuriöse Büros und Wohnung sowie ein hochwertiges Gastronomie-Angebot direkt an der Themse. Blick auf die Tower Bridge inklusive. Das ebenfalls in Southwark gelegene Designmuseum bezeichnet er selbst als „das Beste, was ich je in meinem Leben getan habe“.

Möbelstücke aus der Terrence Conran Kollaboration mit Marks & Spencer

Neben seinem unglaublichen Erfolg als Designer, machte er sich jedoch auch mit seinem Restaurant-Empire einen Namen: Conran eröffnete mehr als 30 Restaurants in allen Metropolen der Welt – von London bis Paris, Kopenhagen, New York und Tokyo. Uns gefällt vor allem das 2008 eröffnete „Boundary“ in Shoreditch, London. Es ist ein Restaurant, eine Rooftop-Bar, ein Café, eine Bäckerei, ein Foodstore und ein Hotel in einem. Besonders toll finden wir dabei die 17 individuell gestalteten Zimmer, denn die erinnern uns an unser „25-hours-Hotel“ und „THE GUESTHOUSE“…

JP & TERENCE CONRAN

Vor diesem Hintergrund erscheint es fast unglaublich, dass wir den britischen Star-Designer für die Gestaltung der Inneneinrichtung in unserem Guesthouse gewinnen könnten. Dank seiner zeitlosen Einrichtung, die elegant und gemütlich zugleich ist, konnten wir Hotelzimmer entwerfen, die sich wie eine luxuriöse, private Wohnung anfühlen. Aber am Besten Sie machen sich selbst ein Bild davon…

» Good, simple design. That’s all. «
Terence Conran
Newsletter Anmeldung
Vielen Dank
für Ihr Interesse
schliessen