0
A stroll through the Third District

A real feelgood neighbourhood with bustling streets, vibrant life in the parks and just a stone’s throw away from the city centre.
 
From Modena park to Arenbergpark

The Neulinggasse was once called Grasweg (grass way) and then Grasgasse (grass alley). It received its present name in 1862. Vinzenz Neuling (1795-1846) was an innkeeper and brewer who inherited several estates in the then rural area from his father, a prosperous jeweller. Vinzenz used his wealth to promote culture and help poor people. He hosted house concerts, opened a theatre and was the benefactor of many homeless people after the great inundation – the Danube flood of 1830. Today, the Neulinggasse between Modena park and Arenberg park is a genuinely feelgood neighbourhood. Magnificent municipal housing from the 1930s with clear and sometimes simple façades are lined up next to magnificent palais and town houses with protruding balconies. Bustling streets, vibrant life in the parks and the proximity to the city centre all create a very special atmosphere. Many embassies and consulates have established themselves here, which lends an international aura to the area. The two parks form little natural islands in the middle of the urban fabric.

Arenberg Park

The history of Arenberg Park is replete with aristocratic names. Prince Nicholas Esterházy first commissioned it to be built near the former Palais Esterházy in 1785. This palais by the Landstrasser Hauptstraße became a victim of urban planning in 1958. It was demolished to create a route for the Neulinggasse. In 1810, the Park was acquired by Archduke Carl. His contemporaries considered him a great hero since he had managed to drive back Napoleon – believed to be invincible at the time – at least once at the Battle of Aspern-Essling in 1809. Heinrich von Kleist wrote pompous verses such as “Surmounter of the Insurmountable” and dedicated them to Archduke Carl, and his statue still stands today next to Prince Eugen at on Heldenplatz. But back to the park. It later passed into the ownership of a princess from the noble house of Arenberg, who then sold it to the Municipality of Vienna in 1900. Although nobility had vanished into thin air from the park, the name stuck.

In 1940, two of the six Viennese “flak towers” were built in Arenberg Park. They were supposed to help fend off enemy planes. A history of the flak towers reveals that these two were assigned the code name “Baldrian” (valerian). As we now know, they didn’t have much more to offer than an illusion of minimum nervous relief. And so they stand today in the park as a monumental reminder of a dark time. One of them is used as a storage depot, a repository of contemporary art for the Museum für Angewandte Kunst (MAK, the Museum of Applied Art). It also hosts art events under the moniker “CAT – Contemporary Art Tower”. On such occasions the tower is opened up to the public.

Today, this area is the centre and meeting place in the Neulinggasse. It has everything a Viennese park and its visitors need: plenty of greenery, plenty of paths to walk along, a large playground for children, a little coffee house for grown-ups, a zone for dogs and their owners – even young people are catered for with their very own, albeit small sports ground. Children’s laughter intermingles with the twittering of the birds, sunshine and fragrant nature. There’s always something going on here, with picnics in the shade of the trees accompanied by the sounds of chats and laughter. And throughout the open, publicly accessible area, local residents, students and kindergarten children get down to some serious gardening, both for their own pleasure and the delight of passing visitors to the park.

Neighbourhood back to overview
Newsletter Registration
Thank you for
your request
close
Bitte stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu, um alle Funktionen dieser Website nutzen zu können. Mehr Information
OK

0
Flanieren durch den Dritten

Ein wahres Wohlfühl-Grätzel mit geschäftigem Treiben auf den Straßen, pulsierendem Leben in Parks und in unmittelbarer Nähe zur Innenstadt.
 
Vom Modena- bis zum Arenbergpark

Ihren heutigen Namen erhielt die Neulinggasse, die seinerzeitig Grasweg, dann Grasgasse hieß, im Jahr 1862 nach Vinzenz Neuling (1795-1846). Dieser Gastwirt und Bierbrauer erbte von seinem Vater, einem wohlhabenden Juwelier mehrere Besitztümer in der damals noch dörflichen Gegend. Seinen Wohlstand verwendete er zur Förderung von Kultur und zur Unterstützung armer Menschen. Er veranstaltete Hauskonzerte, eröffnete ein Theater und war Wohltäter unter anderem für zahlreiche Obdachlose nach der großen Überschwemmung, dem Donauhochwasser von 1830. Auch heute ist die Neullinggasse zwischen Modenapark und Arenbergpark ein wahres Wohlfühl-Grätzel. Prächtige Gemeindebauten aus den 1930er-Jahren mit klaren, teils schlichten Fassaden reihen sich neben prachtvolle Palais und Bürgerhäuser mit ausladenden Balkonen. Geschäftiges Treiben auf den Straßen, pulsierendes Leben in den Parks und die Nähe zur Innenstadt schaffen eine ganz besondere Atmosphäre. Viele Botschaften und Konsulate haben sich hier angesiedelt, was der Gegend eine internationale Ausstrahlung verleiht. Die beiden Parks bilden kleine Naturinseln inmitten der städtischen Struktur.

Der Arenbergpark

Die Geschichte des Arenbergparks ist von adeligen Namen geprägt. Nikolaus Fürst Esterházy hat ihn im Jahr 1785 nahe des früheren Esterházy-Palais errichten lassen. Dieses Palais an der Landstrasser Hauptstraße wurde im Jahr 1958 Opfer der Stadtgestaltung. Es wurde abgetragen, um einen Durchstich für die Neulinggasse zu schaffen. Im Jahr 1810 wurde der Park von Erzherzog Carl erworben. Er galt seinen Zeitgenossen als großer Held, hatte er doch 1809 den zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch unbesiegbar geglaubten Napoleon in der Schlacht von Aspern zumindest einmal zurückdrängen können. Heinrich von Kleist widmete Erzherzog Carl schwülstige Verse wie "Überwinder des Unüberwindlichen", und heute noch steht seine Statue neben Prinz Eugen auf dem Heldenplatz. Doch zurück zum Park. Der ging später an eine Prinzessin aus dem Adelshaus Arenberg, die ihn im Jahr 1900 an die Gemeinde Wien verkaufte. Der Adel verschwand von der Bildfläche des Parks, der Name blieb erhalten.

Im Jahr 1940 wurden im Arenbergpark zwei der insgesamt sechs Wiener „Flaktürme“ errichtet. Sie sollten helfen, feindliche Flieger abzuwehren. In einer Historie über die Flaktürme kann man nachlesen, dass die beiden hier den Codenamen „Baldrian“ trugen. Viel mehr als eine minimale, nervliche Beruhigung hatten sie, wie wir wissen, tatsächlich nicht zu bieten. So stehen sie heute im Park als monumentale Mahnung vor einer dunklen Zeit. Einer von ihnen dient als Lager für das Museum für Angewandte Kunst (MAK), in dem Gegenwartskunst gespeichert ist. Hier werden auch Kunstaktionen unter dem Motto „CAT – Contemporary Art Tower“ veranstaltet, anlässlich derer der Turm für das Publikum offen steht.

Heute ist er Zentrum und Treffpunkt in der Neulinggasse und hat alles, was ein Wiener Park und seine Besucher benötigen: Viel Grün, ausreichend Wege zum Flanieren, einen großen Spielplatz für die Kleinen, ein kleines Kaffeehaus für die Großen, Zonen für Hunde und ihre Besitzer – und auch die Jugend kommt mit einem eigenen, wenngleich kleinen Sportplatz auf ihre Rechnung. In das Gezwitscher von Vögeln mischt sich Kinderlachen, es riecht nach Sonne und Natur. Hier ist immer etwas los, im Schatten der Bäume wird gejausnet, geplaudert und gelacht. Und auf einer offenen, frei zugänglichen Fläche garteln AnrainerInnen, SchülerInnen und Kindergartenkinder der Umgebung zur eigenen Freude und zur jener der vorbeikommenden Parkbesucher.

Mehr Information unter graetzlbericht.at

Grätzelbericht Zurück zur übersicht
Newsletter Anmeldung
Vielen Dank
für Ihr Interesse
schliessen