0
An interview with JP Managing Director Dr. Daniel Jelitzka

Dr. Daniel Jelitzka, Managing Director of JP Immobilien, talks about branded addresses, a new way of living and the meaning of the good life.

What do you mean precisely by branded addresses?
Branded addresses always communicate a clear message which suggest certain expectations. Obviously, these also have to be fulfilled by the product, meaning the property.

What advantages are there when properties become “brands” and, as a result, are given separate identities?
Identity is a very important consideration in real estate because it can create sustainable value. It makes a big difference if I say “I live at number 22, in block A, staircase number 4, apartment number 27” or “I live in the Laendyard, in the building facing the village square”. Branded addresses allow us to create exclusivity, originality and individuality even in the case of large-scale projects. And because housing is always a highly emotional matter, all this gives it an extremely high value.

What role does the name play in this instance?
A major one! Because a catchy name can have a highly emotional impact on people if it has positive connotations and anticipates the qualities of the project.

Is the trend from America slowly breaking through in Austria? Or are branded address projects still the exception?
It’s important to distinguish between run-of-the-mill marketing campaigns and branded addresses. In the case of the first ones, you resort to pre-set motifs and existing folder structures. But in the case of branded addresses you develop an independent property label – and that remains an exception in Austria.

What’s the customer response to branded properties?
Customers tend to be much more in favour of branded addresses, of course, but you always have to ask yourself whether it also makes sense for the property developer. In the case of a neighbourhood development, for example, it makes sense not to get lost in the crowd. Here, you have to create a soul which people can emotionally identify themselves with. If you’re talking about a high-end project in the First District, it makes sense because that makes it state-of-the-art anyway. But a branded address process would be a little excessive for average property development projects of up to 3,000 square metres in size.

What are the key factors in successful real estate marketing? Are there any differences between hotel, residential and office buildings?
There's a strong differentiation between these types. Hotel buildings and residential properties are usually marketed along highly emotionalised lines simply because this is a better way to attract customers and therefore be more successful in marketing.

What about office buildings?
Office buildings are marketed in an extremely technocratic way since you’re always dealing with facts – things like square meters or operating costs. I’m quite convinced that it would be possible to market office space successfully by using emotional arguments. “Telegraf 7”, one of our branded address projects, is a living example of this. Here we’ve left out all the usual technical considerations, because they have to conform to market requirements anyway. Instead, what we have is a green roof terrace, a suite and a private gym – embedded in incredibly attractive surroundings.

Has this been reflected in successful marketing?
Yes, it certainly has! After all, even though the market for office space is pretty awful, we managed to lease out almost the entire office space a year before project completion. Having a branded address was a major reason behind the success of this development.

What used to be sold were apartments. Today it’s lifestyles. Is that how you also see it, and why is that, do you think?
If the same kind of housing is available in terms of quality, people obviously tend to choose the one that conveys a certain lifestyle. We live in the age of individuality. By creating individuality through branding, you create identity.

Does a branded address property always equate to luxury?
No, because emotional appeal is important in all areas of life at home. It doesn’t matter if someone buys an apartment with a square metre price of 10,000 or 3,000 euros. It’s not a question of luxury.

What other new developments have taken place in the property sector apart from branded addresses?
In Vienna, more and more classic office locations are starting to emerge, such as the Wienerberg, the Donauplatte or the Vienna Central Station. Many sites that were once office locations are being abandoned due to lack of demand. A major trend is to refurbish such old office buildings and turn them back into residential accommodation. The second trend is that the apartments are becoming much, much smaller again.

Can you say why?
Yes I can – by using a term we've created. Smart luxury. It means that people buy smaller properties but still enjoy the comfort of large ones. It goes back to the idea of “sharing is caring” – few people need to have a spa in their apartment. So the spa is simply outsourced to the communal housing association. Or to take another example, I can book a kitchen lounge and invite friends for dinner without them having to sit in my bedroom. In other words I have a small efficient apartment but don’t have to live without luxury amenities. Quite simply, the trend towards sharing and cooperatives has truly arrived in the property sector.

Do you have a branded address project that you particularly like?
I have two favourite projects. I particularly like Laendyard – it’s a good example of a neighbourhood development. Marketing it ranges from staging the gold rush event right through to the website, and is really great. But then so is the product itself: urban life in the countryside. The name communicates precisely that. Here, it includes the site of “Erdbergerlände” site as well as the “yard” concept of a large outdoor space.

And the other one?
The second product is in the high end sector. It’s called No10. I find that very apt. The title says it all, really: I live in 1010 Vienna at Renngasse 10. You don’t have to add anything more to that, simply because the product itself is already so expressive and sophisticated, you see.

Many branded address projects often advertise with the slogan: “the good life”. What does the good life mean to you, personally?
I personally want to be in a place where I can enjoy peace and quiet but also have convenient access to the city centre. Everyone has a different take on what the good life means. It is precisely this diversity and individuality which defines the quality of a city.

» Individuality & diversity define
the quality of a city «
Dr. Daniel Jelitzka
Interview back to overview
Newsletter Registration
Thank you for
your request
close
Bitte stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu, um alle Funktionen dieser Website nutzen zu können. Mehr Information
OK

0
JP Geschäftsführer Dr. Daniel Jelitzka im Gespräch

Dr. Daniel Jelitzka, Geschäftsführer von JP Immobilien, über Branded Addresses, die neue Art zu Wohnen und die Bedeutung des guten Lebens.

Was ist unter dem Begriff „Branded Addresses“ genau zu verstehen?
Bei Branded Addresses wird immer eine klare Message kommuniziert, die eine bestimmte Erwartungshaltung suggeriert. Diese muss dann natürlich auch vom Produkt, der Immobilie, erfüllt werden.

Welche Vorteile ergeben sich, wenn eine Immobilie zur Marke, zur „Brand“ wird und so eine eigene Identität verliehen bekommt?
Identität ist bei Immobilien sehr wichtig, da so eine nachhaltige Wertigkeit geschaffen werden kann. Es ist ein großer Unterschied ob ich sage „Ich wohne bei der Nummer 22, im Block A, bei der Stiege Nummer 4 in der Wohnung Nummer 27“ oder „Ich lebe im Laendyard, im Gebäude, das zum Dorfplatz orientiert ist“. Branded Addresses ermöglichen es, auch bei sehr großen Projekten Exklusivität, Originalität und Individualität zu erzeugen. Und da es sich bei Wohnen immer um eine sehr emotionale Sache handelt, ist all das von extrem hohen Wert.

Welche Rolle spielt der Name dabei?
Eine große! Denn wenn der Name positiv besetzt ist, Qualitäten des Projekts vorwegnimmt und im Ohr nachklingt, kann er sehr emotionalisierend wirken.

Setzt sich der Trend aus den USA langsam auch in Österreich durch? Oder sind Branded-Addresses-Projekte nach wie vor die Ausnahme?
Hierbei ist es wichtig, zwischen einer 08/15-Marketingkampagne und Branded Addresses zu unterscheiden. Bei ersterer greift man auf bereits erarbeitete Sujets und vorhandene Folderstrukturen zurück. Bei Branded Addresses entwickelt man eine eigenständige Immobilienmarke – und das ist in Österreich nach wie vor eine Ausnahme.

Wie nehmen Kunden gebrandete Immobilien an?
Die Kunden nehmen das natürlich viel lieber an, allerdings muss man immer fragen, ob es auch für den Bauträger Sinn macht. Bei einer Quartiersentwicklung beispielsweise macht es Sinn, um nicht in der Masse unterzugehen. Hier muss man eine Seele kreieren, in der sich Leute emotional wiederfinden. Bei einem High-End Projekt im ersten Bezirk hingegen macht es Sinn, weil es hier sowieso State of the Art ist. Bei durchschnittlichen Bauträgerprojekten mit einer Größe bis 3.000 Quadratmeter wäre ein Branded-Addresses-Prozess jedoch über das Ziel hinausgeschossen.

Was sind die ausschlaggebenden Faktoren einer erfolgreichen Immobilienvermarktung? Gibt es dabei Unterschiede zwischen Hotel-, Wohn- und Bürogebäuden?
Es gibt eine starke Differenzierung zwischen diesen Arten. Hotelgebäude werden extrem emotionalisiert vermarktet, ebenso Wohnimmobilien. Einfach, weil man dadurch die Kunden besser ansprechen kann und somit auch erfolgreicher in der Vermarktung ist.

Und bei Bürogebäuden?
Bürogebäude werden extrem technokratisch vermarktet, da geht es immer um Fakten. Um Dinge wie Quadratmeter oder Betriebskosten. Ich bin der festen Überzeugung, würde man Büros emotionaler vermarkten, würde auch hier eine erfolgreiche Vermarktung stattfinden. Lebendes Beispiel ist „Telegraf 7“, eines unserer Branded-Addresses-Projekte. Hier haben wir all die technischen Begebenheiten weggelassen, denn die müssen ja ohnedies marktkonform sein. Dafür gibt es eine begrünte Dachterrasse, eine Suite und einen eigenen Gym – eingebettet in ein wahnsinnig sympathisches Umfeld.

Hat sich das auch im Vermarktungserfolg wiedergespiegelt?
Ja! Denn obwohl der Büromarkt sehr schlecht ist, konnten wir fast das ganze Projekt ein Jahr vor der Fertigstellung voll vermieten. Das Branding war ein wesentlicher Teil dieses Erfolgs.

Früher wurden Wohnungen verkauft, heute ein Lebensstil, sehen Sie das auch so? Warum ist das so?
Wenn gleichwertiger Wohnraum zur Verfügung steht, wählen die Leute natürlich den, der einen gewissen Lifestyle vermittelt. Wir sind im Zeitalter der Individualität, wenn man Individualität durch Branding schafft, dann schafft man Identität.

Ist eine Branded Address Immobilie immer mit Luxus gleichzusetzen?
Nein, denn Emotionalisierung ist in allen Bereichen des Wohnens wichtig. Egal ob jemand eine Wohnung kauft, wo der Quadratmeter 10.000 oder 3.000 Euro kostet. Das ist keine Frage des Luxus.

Was sind neben Branded Addresses gerade neue Entwicklungen in der Immobilienbranche?
In Wien kristallisieren sich immer mehr die klassischen Bürostandorte heraus, wie der Wienerberg, die Platte oder der Südbahnhof. Viele Lagen, die einst Bürostandorte waren, werden aufgrund der geringen Nachfrage aufgegeben. Ein großer Trend besteht darin, diese alten Bürogebäude zu refurbishen und zum Wohnen zurückzuführen. Der zweite Trend ist der, dass die Wohnungen wieder massiv kleiner werden.

Lässt sich sagen warum?
Ja und zwar mit einem Begriff, den wir kreiert haben: Smart Luxury. Das bedeutet, dass man sich zwar etwas Kleines kauft, aber dennoch den Komfort des Großen genießt. Zurückzuführen ist dies auf den Gedanken „Sharing ist Caring“ – viele brauchen kein eigenes Spa in ihrer Wohnung. Deshalb wird dies einfach in den allgemeinen Wohnverband ausgegliedert. Oder es gibt eine Kitchen Lounge, die ich buchen und Freunde zum Essen einladen kann, ohne, dass die in meinem Schlafzimmer sitzen müssen. Ich habe also eine kleine effiziente Wohnung, muss dennoch nicht auf die Luxus-Amenities verzichten. Der Trend des Miteinanders und Kooperativen ist also durchaus in der Immobilienbranche angekommen.

Haben Sie ein Branded-Addresses-Projekt, das Sie besonders mögen?
Ich habe zwei Lieblingsprojekte. Als Beispiel für eine Quartierentwicklung mag ich Laendyard besonders. Die Vermarktung, angefangen vom Goldgräber-Event bis hin zur Website ist toll. Aber auch das Produkt an sich: Urbanes Leben im Grünen. Genau das kommuniziert auch der Name so passend: Hier ist der Standort „Erdbergerlände“ enthalten, aber auch der Yard-Gedanke eines großen Freiraums.

Und das andere?
Das zweite Produkt ist im High-End-Bereich angesiedelt, das ist N°10. Das finde ich deswegen gut, weil der Titel eigentlich schon alles sagt: Ich bin in 1010 Wien, Renngasse 10. Mehr muss man auch gar nicht sagen, da einfach das Produkt an sich schon so aussagekräftig ist. Sehr sophisticated eben.

Viele Branded-Addresses-Projekte werben oft mit dem „guten Leben“. Was verstehen Sie persönlich darunter?
Ich persönlich will dort sein, wo ich Ruhe, aber auch eine gute Anbindung an die Innenstadt habe. Das gute Leben ist für jeden etwas anderes. Genau diese Vielfalt und Individualität macht die Qualität einer Stadt aus.

» Individualität & Vielfalt machen
die Qualität einer Stadt aus «
Dr. Daniel Jelitzka
Newsletter Anmeldung
Vielen Dank
für Ihr Interesse
schliessen
Bitte stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu, um alle Funktionen dieser Website nutzen zu können. Mehr Information
OK