0
Nielsen, Nielsen & Nielsen

Nielsen, Nielsen & Nielsen have become 3XN, a Danish architectural firm with an international reputation. Congratulations!

2016 marks a very special year in the history of 3XN. On the one hand, the Danish architecture firm celebrates its 30th anniversary, last but not least with an exhibition organised by the Architekturforum Aedes in Berlin. On the other, it can once again look forward to building on its remarkably creative activities. A spectacular design for a residential building in Toronto, Canada, directly on the shore of Lake Ontario, enabled 3XN to embark on its first project in North America last year. This now been presented in detail to the public for the very first time. Reactions were extremely positive on all sides, and have been paralleled in Vienna, where N°10 – a no less virtuoso residential development by 3XN – will soon assume concrete forms. Located in the first district, the latter project was initiated and is exclusively marketed by JP Immobilien.

3XN started out in Aarhus as a relatively small outfit in 1986. At the time, the architecture firm still went by the name of its three founders, Nielsen, Nielsen & Nielsen. This witty appellation was soon to be abbreviated to 3XN, however – internationally, the buildings of the Danish architects would speak for themselves. A milestone on the path towards greater attention was the new Holstebro court building in 1992. It was followed by commissions from all over Denmark and Scandinavia, many of them garnering architectural awards.

What became evident in those days is what distinguishes and automatically continues to drive 3XN on today. The Danes’ approach to architecture builds on the virtues of Scandinavian design. Clarity and functionality take overriding priority. They result in the form of durable design and implementation which the frequently harsh climate of the European North requires. In addition, 3XN’s unique qualities reside in their ability to take on all kinds of locations and needs. They make buildings an experience and an independent, consistent narrative.

3XN’s buildings are always a delight to behold with their architectural clarity, materials and celebrated details.

This is precisely why those fortunate enough to shortly be spending a few days in Copenhagen should certainly not miss out on “Den Blå Planet” (the blue planet). Denmark’s national aquarium has been masterfully designed by 3XN. It assumes the shape of whirling water and shoals of fish. Biology, architecture and life merge into a rare work of art. It couldn’t have been done any better.

Because this all this also takes place in a completely unpretentious way, 3XN have long been the architects of choice for prestigious and cultural buildings throughout the world. Whether it’s the Danish Embassy in Berlin, the Muziekgebouw concert hall in Amsterdam, the Plassen cultural centre in Molde, the Royal Arena in Copenhagen, the new Museum of Liverpool, to name but a few of many widely acclaimed major projects, 3XN have created distinctive city architecture in many places.

So it comes as no surprise, then, that over one hundred employees currently work at the headquarters in Copenhagen and the branch office in Stockholm. Especially since Toronto and Vienna are only two of the cities that are currently keep 3XN busy. Sydney, Mumbai, Lake Geneva, Paris, Munich, London and Dublin – the list of references is continually growing. Clients all over the world have recognised that 3XN stands for visionary architects and forward-looking designers who master a modern design language without wasting time on fashionable effects. As a result, the Danes have to put up with being assigned the label of star architects. After all, what other way is there to describe the density and do justice to the broad spread of buildings with such quality? Congratulations, 3XN!

Architecture back to overview
Newsletter Registration
Thank you for
your request
close
Bitte stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu, um alle Funktionen dieser Website nutzen zu können. Mehr Information
OK

0
Nielsen, Nielsen & Nielsen

Aus Nielsen, Nielsen & Nielsen wurde 3XN und ein dänisches Architekturbüro mit Weltruf. Eine Gratulation.

2016 ist ein ganz besonderes Jahr in der Geschichte von 3XN. Das dänische Architekturbüro feiert heuer zum einen sein 30-jähriges Jubiläum, nicht zuletzt mit einer vom Berliner Aedes Architecture Forum ausgerichteten Ausstellung, und darf sich zum anderen abermals über die Ausweitung der beachtlichen Schaffenssphäre freuen. Ein spektakulärer Entwurf für ein Wohngebäude im kanadischen Toronto, direkt am Ontariosee, brachte 3XN im Vorjahr das erste Projekt in Nordamerika ein. Dieses wurde nun erstmals in allen Details der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert. Positivste Reaktionen allerorts. Eine Parallele zu Wien, wo mit N°10 ein nicht minder virtuoser Wohnbau von 3XN demnächst konkrete Formen annehmen wird. Mitten im ersten Bezirk. Initiiert und exklusiv vermarktet von JP Immobilien.

3XN haben 1986 vergleichsweise klein in Aarhus begonnen. Damals hieß das Architekturbüro noch Nielsen, Nielsen & Nielsen, benannt nach den drei Gründern. Der launige Name sollte jedoch bald zur Kurzformel 3XN werden – und die Bauten der dänischen Architekten international für sich sprechen. Meilenstein am Weg zu größerer Aufmerksamkeit war 1992 das neue Gerichtsgebäude in Holstebro. Danach folgten Aufträge aus dem ganzen Land, bald auch aus dem gesamten skandinavischen Raum, oftmals verbunden mit der Verleihung von Architekturpreisen.

Schon damals manifestierte sich, was 3XN bis heute auszeichnet und von sich aus weiter vorantreibt. Das Architekturverständnis der Dänen baut auf die Tugenden skandinavischen Designs. Klarheit und Funktionalität sind dabei oberste Prämisse, korrespondierend mit solider, dauerhaft gedachter Ausführung, wie es das oft raue Klima des europäischen Nordens erforderlich macht. Hinzu kommt die einmalige Qualität von 3XN: die große Fähigkeit, sich auf Orte und Bedürfnisse einzulassen, um Gebäude zu einem Erlebnis, einer eigenständigen, in sich stimmigen Erzählung zu machen.

Bauwerke von 3XN sind immer ein Vergnügen. Die Gesamtheit der architektonischen Klarheit, die Materialien, die zelebrierten Details.

Wer das Glück hat, demnächst ein paar Tage in Kopenhagen zu verbringen, sollte sich genau deshalb „Den Blå Planet“ (Der Blaue Planet) nicht entgehen lassen. Dänemarks Nationalaquarium, meisterhaft geplant von 3XN. Seine Form basiert auf den Wirbeln des Wassers und der Fischschwärme. Biologie, Architektur und Leben verschmelzen hier zu einem raren Gesamtkunstwerk. Besser kann man es nicht machen.

Weil dies zugleich völlig unprätentiös geschieht, sind 3XN gerade bei Prestige- und Kulturbauten längst weltweit als Architekten gesetzt. Sei es die Dänische Botschaft in Berlin, die Konzerthalle Muziekgebouw in Amsterdam, das Kulturzentrum Plassen in Molde, die Royal Arena in Kopenhagen, das neue Museum of Liverpool, um nur einige der vielen weithin beachteten Großprojekte zu nennen, überall haben 3XN stadtprägende Architektur geschaffen.

Kein Wunder also, dass aktuell über hundert Angestellte im Hauptquartier Kopenhagen und der Niederlassung in Stockholm tätig sind. Zumal Toronto und Wien nur zwei der Städte sind, die 3XN derzeit beschäftigt halten. Sydney, Mumbai, am Genfer See, in Paris, München, London, Dublin – die Liste der Referenzen wächst kontinuierlich. Bauherrn auf der ganzen Welt haben erkannt, dass mit 3XN hingebungsvolle Architekten am Planen sind, die nach vorne gewandt agieren und ein moderne Formensprache beherrschen, ohne sich mit modischen Effekten aufzuhalten. Das Label Stararchitekten müssen sich die Dänen deshalb gefallen lassen. Wie sollte man die Dichte und weite Verbreitung von Bauwerken dieser Qualität auch sonst würdig beschreiben? Herzlichen Glückwunsch, 3XN!

Newsletter Anmeldung
Vielen Dank
für Ihr Interesse
schliessen